Keynote Speakers


Ottmar Edenhofer is director of the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC) as well as designated director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK). He is also Professor of the Economics of Climate Change at the Technische Universität Berlin. From 2008 to 2015 he served as Co-Chair of Working Group III for the Fifth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Edenhofer is an active member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and, furthermore, advises the World Bank within the advisory committee of the Green Growth Knowledge Platform.


Shuaib Lwasa is Associate Professor at the Department of Geography Geo-Informatics and Climatic Sciences at Makerere University, Uganda. He has degrees in Geography, Geographic Information Science and Land Use and Regional Planning. His running projects include building urban resilience, augmenting waste economies in urban areas, sustainable cities and climate risks responses. He chairs the Integrated Research on Disaster Risk Reduction program by ICSU, ISSC and UNISDR. Professor Lwasa was also Lead Author of the Fifth Assessment Report (AR5) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and is Coordinating Lead Author of AR6.


Diana Ürge-Vorsatz is a Professor at the Department of Environmental Sciences and Policy at the Central European University (CEU) in Budapest, Hungary. She serves as Vice Chair of Working Group III of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and was a Coordinating Lead Author in two Assessment Reports of the IPCC. Professor Ürge-Vorsatz served on the United Nation's Scientific Expert Group on Climate Change, and led the buildings-related work in the Global Energy Assessment. She is also associate editor of the journal “Energy Efficiency”, and a member of the Editorial Board of “Annual Reviews of Environment and Resources”. 

Abonnieren Sie den MCC-Newsletter.