November 29-30:

Pre-COP24 Conference at MCC Berlin




Download conference agenda



Day 1 // November 29, 2018

Session 1: Competing Narratives for future energy systems

Svenja Schulze
Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety

Prof. Ottmar Edenhofer
Designated Director and Chief Economist of Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)
Director of Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)
Professor at Technische Universität Berlin

Prof. Nick Robins
Professor in Practice for Sustainable Finance
Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
London School of Economics and Political Science

Dr. Christoph Beier
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Beth Child
UK Government, Department of Business, Environment and Industrial Strategy
Deputy Director for International Climate Strategy

Session 2: Learning from country-specific experiences

Prof. Lawrence H. Goulder
Shuzo Nishihara Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics
Department of Economics, Stanford University

Prof. Frank Jotzo
Professor at the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy
Director of the Centre for Climate Economics and Policy
Australian National University, Canberra

Prof. Andreas Löschel
Chair of Microeconomics with a Focus on Energy and Resource Economics
Director of the Centre of Applied Economic Research Münster (CAWM)
University of Münster

Dr. Rohit Chandra
Harvard Kennedy School, Harvard University

Ted Nace
Founder and director of CoalSwarm
San Francisco, California

Day 2 // November 30, 2018

Session 1: Turning losers into winners – Understanding the political economy to enable transformative change

Prof. Benjamin Sovacool
Professor of Energy Policy
Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU)
University Sussex

Prof. Johannes Urpelainen
Director and Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz Professor of Energy, Resources and Environment
Founding Director, Initiative for Sustainable Energy Policy (ISEP)
John Hopkins University, Washington, DC

Dr. Joachim Hein
BDI – Federation of German Industries
Section Energy and Climate Policy

Stefanie Langkamp
Leiterin Kohle und Energiepolitik
Klima Allianz

Samantha Smith
International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) - Just Transition Center

Session 2: Determinants of success: Lessons from other policy areas

Prof. Jens Südekum
Professor für International Economics
Düsseldorf Institute for Competition Economics (DICE)
Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf

Dr. Laura Cornelsen
Assistant Professor in Public Health Economics
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Dr. Chris Holden
Reader in International Social Policy
University of York

Dr. Michael Jakob
Coordinator of MCC Task Force Public Economics

Dr. Jan C. Steckel
Head of MCC working group Climate and Development

Abonnieren Sie den MCC-Newsletter.