European Union appoints Edenhofer to Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change

New independent advisory body based on the European Climate Law. “I will be glad to contribute ensuring that it is translated into climate reality.”

Founding Director of MCC: Ottmar Edenhofer. | Photo: MCC


The European Climate Law adopted in 2021 provides for the establishment of a European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change to support achieving climate neutrality in the European Union by 2050. The European Environment Agency now appointed economist Ottmar Edenhofer to this unique new board, which will meet for the first time this Friday. Edenhofer is Director of the Berlin-based climate research institute MCC (Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change) and the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research as well as professor at Technische Universität Berlin. The Advisory Board will give independent scientific advice and produce reports on EU policies and their coherence with the Climate Law and the EU's commitments under the Paris Agreement.

“The new European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change will serve as a point of reference on scientific knowledge relating to climate change by virtue of its independence and scientific and technical expertise, to underpin the European Union’s climate action,” the Environment Agency explains. The Agency hosts the board’s secretariat. The 15 members of the board are appointed for four years. They have been carefully selected by an evaluation committee in a process taking several months, based on their scientific excellence and experience in providing scientific advice, according to the Agency. The board will ensure transparency and make its reports publicly available.

Besides Edenhofer, members include Maarten van Aalst, University of Twente, Jette Bredahl Jacobsen, University of Copenhagen, Constantinos Cartalis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Suraje Dessai, University of Leeds, Laura Díaz Anadón, University of Cambridge, Vera Eory, Scotland’s Rural College, Edgar Hertwich, Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim, Lena Kitzing, Technical University of Denmark, Elena López-Gunn, ICATALIST, Lars J. Nilsson, Lund University, Keywan Riahi, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Joeri Rogelj, Grantham Institute of the Imperial College London, Nicolaas Schrijver, Leiden University and Jean-Francois Soussana, French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and the Environment.

“The European Climate Law is a historic opportunity for advancing modern climate policies and helping to limit climate risks that threaten our prosperity and social cohesion,” said Edenhofer. “As a climate economist, I will be glad to provide whatever expertise and advice I can offer to contribute ensuring that the climate law is translated into climate reality. Efficient implementation is sometimes the hardest part of the policy process. The US, China, in fact the world is watching how the EU is managing the difficult task of reducing its greenhouse gas emissions to net zero by mid-century. Exploring pathways that others can follow, the EU can be a climate pioneer.”

Further information:
ESABCC press release of 18 May 2022 on the election of Ottmar Edenhofer as the chairperson of the new body